NetHere Knowledge Base (KB)
Main ::E-mail
Minimize Text   Default    Enlarge Text

How to NOT Leave Messages on Server While Using Outlook 2002

As part of your NetHere service your mailbox includes 10 MEG of message storage. If you are having exceeded this quota it is most likely a result of mail client set incorrectly to "leave copies of your messages on the server." Your mail account should be set as a POP3 account and this means that each time you connect to your mail box your mail client should download your messages to your local PC. Having the client configured to "Leave copies on the server" defeats this operation and makes it hard to delete mail from your mail box. To correct this setting within your mail client please follow these directions:

STEP 1 - Getting to your configured E-mail Accounts

Within outlook select the Tools Menu and choose the E-mail Accounts... option.

Step 2 - Choose the correct E-mail Account

Select the correct account from the choices presented in the white box in the center of the E-mail Accounts window, you can do this by double clicking on the account or highlighting it once and hitting the Change button after it is highlighted.

Step 3 - E-mail Accounts

Upon selecting the correct mail account the E-mail Accounts window should open. This window will display many of the settings that are critical to your mail client's correct operation, please do not change any of them, instead select the More Settings... button on the lower right hand side.

 

Step 4- Internet E-mail Settings - Advanced Tab

From the More Settings... button you should see the Internet E-mail settings box open, select the Advanced tab and make sure that under the Delivery section "Leave a copy of messages on the server" is not selected, if it is click on the box and removes this setting. Hit okay and close out of outlook.

Please note that upon restarting Outlook the setting should be correct and that the first time you download your mail after this has been corrected there is a chance that you may receive a large amount of mail and possibly duplicated messages, this should only happen once as you download all of the messages to you local machine.



 

Search Glossary Saved Article Contact us